Privacy Tit-for-Tat

Something struck me  this morning reading a forum post on InWorldz. They  were debating a like/dislike button function on the forum and the topic about if you should be able to see who  Liked/Disliked.

Now this  comes down to privacy and privacy  has been a hot topic  this last 6 months – 1 year. Privacy  on the internet.

What struck me was how ardent people are about their privacy. Not that there is anything wrong with that  BUT when you  see how many  wallow in the famous people’s lives. You  know  rock stars, actors, royals etc etc. It does make one wonder…

Is there one set of privacy  rules for us and another for them…?

If so  why  is that? Why  dont the  Rock star, Actor, Royal, have a right to some privacy? Why do we ( I use the term we in a general sense) have a need to  know every little sordid detail of  someone elses life.

Now if we are honest it’s not  always  the famous, think of where you  live, if you  live in the small town  this is more in your face than in a big city, though I’m sure  big cities has this  tendency as well. We want to  know the latest gossip, what did the neighbour do, what did that weird  girl  do in the pub last night and why  and with whom… and  its goes on.

I was flicking through  channels the other day  and  happen  to  see some of a docu that was made about  Britney Spears and the paparazzi. Horrifying stuff, it made me wanna  puke to  tell you  the truth and images of Lady Diana`s car in that tunnel in Paris  flashed before me.

When  will this end, will it  ever end? Who really needs this amount of info  on  one person? Did the paparazzi  learn  anything from the Lady Diana tragedy? Who will  be the next killed in the hunt for the next picture, the next fuba, the next story.

No I don’t like the paparazzi and lord help them  if I ever bump into one! I took the consequence when Lady Diana died, I stopped buying anymore magazines, I simply refused to  take any part of  the hunt.

I belive this is a joint responsibility we have, if we stop  buying the magazines, stop  going to  the websites that  publish  every single scrap of into  they  can  dig up, no matter the cost and often  at the expense of the truth even. Then  the paparazzi and the  press will stop  hunting people and  then they can  get some privacy back.

That said , of course we do  want some info..  like, when is the next album release,  interviews on  the whats and the hows that is relevant to their work. If they  choose to go  on  Facebook and Twitter and other  medias and share some of their personal things that is their choice  and we  should be thankful that they  allow us in, in such a way. It’s a gift not a right!

Cos really.. if we are honest…really brutally honest… as a fiend of mine said “Who gives a damn  who is bonking who”

I’m off the soapbox for now but do  me a grand favour, Think about it, just sit down and think!

… Whoooosh … Til next time x

Comments
7 Responses to “Privacy Tit-for-Tat”
  1. Anna Loom says:

    I so agree with you Lady – take the UK courts at the moment trying to get to the bottom of the Twitter leak re the supreme court injection to stop all knowledge of the Footballer/Adultery/Affair. Who the H**L wants to know and why? The only hurt person is the wife of said footballer.

    The other pet hate is when the media interview parents or close relatives of someone who has been murdered/killed. That is the greatest intrusion of privacy of all time.

  2. Skylar Smythe says:

    I agree. If you are going to dance across the metaverse openly you cannot gripe about attacks on your person, reputation or your stronly held opinions. By sticking your neck out you are deliberately putting your own self in the hot seat.

    Same thing with privacy. It is possible to live in a cocoon if absolute privacy is desired but the truth is that people (most of them anyhow) crave attention in some way. You cannot have “attention” and “privacy”. One is forfeited for the other right?

    Celebrities who sit in $30 million dollar mansions and complain about photographers should give up the industry and all trappings and get a normal job if it bothers them. People who cannot stand the opinion of others should not place their profiles or ideals out in social media. The stronger the personality/opinion the stronger the backlash (negative ad positive).

    It’s just part of the deal, IMHO.

    Great post 😉

    Skylar

    • ladysakai says:

      To me your touching on two different points.
      Yes as someone putting yourself out thre you have to expect critism and even attackes. Whether the attacks are accpetable is another matter. I dont belive anyone should accept attacks in any way.
      I dont know if privacy is exactly the same thing though, I might need to ponder that one over and even then its not sure I will reach a conclusion 😉
      I do however belive firmly that even if you are what is commonly know as a public person you do have a fundamental right to basic privacy.
      I mean how many pictures of Britney Spears in a car does the world really need? Do we even need any? Stories of her work is fine, interviews are fine, but when they step into the private realm its not fine anymore. When the paps set up hidden cameras in Lady Dianas fitness center to get some pictures of her working out its a gross invasion of privacy, when they tap into peoples answering machines etc its a gross invasion of privacy!
      My point is that we as consumers have a responsebility as well. We are the ones buying the magazines and logging on to the sites and if we dont want our privacy tampered with and we are screaming for a way to controll our privacy then we should also look at what we are contributing to when it comes to invasion of other peoples privacy. Its a two way street 🙂

  3. kranfel says:

    what can I say?? After my own blog post today, stalking Paris Hilton myself….. 😉

    I agree but I dont read tabloids either and no magazines. Not because im a snob, im not interested thats all.

    xoxoxoxo (dont kill me! =)

    • ladysakai says:

      I dont need to kill you dear, Paris bodyguards will most likelyl do that job just fine LOL
      Now I will say thee is a big difference to stalking (glad you brought it up) and the paps. While they might be cousins they are also two different animals. Then again stalkers have different faces, maybe a subject for anoter post down the line 😉
      Where I object it the public paps stalking for shear cash to feed our curiosity. That is my gripe, that I object to and that I will object to for the rest of my life.
      You bring up anohter point… are we snobs cos we are not interested in other peoples lives behind the curtains? Or have we actually learnd / evolved?

  4. I think about this topic often…how fun to find your (and everyones) views – so similar to mine! I agree with all of it – but have to add…my former RL beau is one of the few photographers who got that infamous up-skirt *shot* of Brittney getting out of her car…and while he certainly works at being in the right place at the right time for his photo ops – it’s also amazing to read the long lists of celebs whose reps contact the media – to let them know where their celeb will be buying their coffee today, etc. I’ll also add he made a small fortune, within hours – with that one photograph.

    Amazing what a zoo it’s all become…how does it stop? Like Lady, I’ve stopped buying tabloids ages ago…but, it’s still EVERYWHERE!

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
